Use Google apps on your iPhone or Android phone and chances are you’re being tracked. The first step is to turn off your Google account location history.
However, you may not be completely out of the woods.
It is possible that some Google apps will still store your location data and simply opening the Google Maps app or using Google search on any platform will log your approximate location and time and thus form part of “Google tracking”. is.
Several states filed lawsuits against Google, the world’s largest search engine, in January, accusing the company of improperly collecting and using location data. “Nearly impossible” to avoid prosecution, they claim, because of Google.
In a 2018 Associated Press investigation into how to prevent Google from tracking, Google added features like “Your data in Maps and Search to make it easier to control what location and other data is saved and what is deleted can hide data from Google. “Google wrongly led consumers to believe that changing their account and device settings would allow customers to protect privacy and control what personal information the company can access,” said DC Attorney General Karl Racine. Since then, Google has come to its defense.
Here we show you steps to follow to disable Google tracking of your location.
How to stop Google from tracking
Here is a step-by-step guide on how to prevent Google from tracking your location by completely disabling Google’s ability to track your location:
- Sign in to your Google account at the top right of Google.com, whether it’s on a desktop or mobile device.
- Select Manage your Google account from the user icon in the top right corner of the screen.
- Then select Privacy and personalization.
- Choose activities and places you’ve been.
- In the History Settings box, click Location History. 6. Activity controls are displayed.
- Click the Disable button to the right of Location History. A pop-up window will appear.
- Click Pause at the bottom of this window after scrolling all the way down.
The Google Maps Timeline feature, which records your location with specific dates at a specific point in time, will not be affected if you turn off location history. “Some location data may still be saved in other settings,” such as B. Your web and app activity, even if you’ve turned off location services on your phone, according to Google’s support page.
According to the company, this information is never shared by Google with third parties or advertisers. However, if you’re still not comfortable with that, there are a few more steps you can take to prevent Google from tracking your location.
Another way to stop Google tracking is to use a VPN like VeePN. VeePN lets you browse the web safely by masking your IP address, the same IP address that Google wants to track. If you hide the IP address, you will probably stop worrying about Google tracking any device you use with VeePN. These “Stop Google Tracking” guides will come in handy if you’re serious about protecting your privacy, whether it’s on the go or in everyday life.
What does this mean for Google?
To prevent Google from tracking certain location markers associated with certain actions and to stop storing information collected from searches or other activities, this setting needs to be disabled. By turning it off, you can keep your general location and other places you visit, including your home address, private, just like when using VeePN.
You should be aware that in order to take full advantage of some features, such as the Maps app, still needs to know where you are. However, if you follow the steps above, future activities will no longer be saved for you. To protect your privacy, Google timestampes your activity within a general area of more than one square mile with at least 1,000 other users. According to Google’s help page, detecting unusual activity like signing in from another city can be done with privacy.
To get the best search results for your location, you can give Google permission to use your precise location – your precise location, like a specific address.
The pros and cons of disabling Google tracking
Disabling this default has its downsides. Aside from invading privacy, Google’s settings allow for a tailored online experience, e.g. For example, helping people find local businesses instead of ones in another city, or showing ads tailored to their interests. According to Google, they help provide users with more relevant information rather than random information.
If you choose not to be tracked, you won’t see as many relevant ads or get as many helpful search suggestions. To prevent Google from making predictions about your interests, you can disable tracking if you like personalized advertising or use VeePN. The loss of accuracy can be worth it for those who value their privacy above all else.
If you want to maintain your privacy and still enjoy personalized search results and ads, you can, but you’ll have to give up some privacy in the process.
Additional data that you can opt out of being tracked by Google
Your YouTube viewing history and information about you that influence the ads you see across the web may be at risk from Google tracking. Visit the Data & Personalization page of your Google Account Settings for more information on both.
You can learn a lot about what Google knows about you by visiting the Personalized Advertising section of the Data & Personalization page. Turning off personalized advertising completely (click the button to slide it to the left) will only affect the advertising you see, not the number of ads you are served or the amount of information that Google collects on your behalf.